Your browser is not supported for the Live Clock Timer, please visit the Support Center for support.

Indian Society for Spices to present Sugandha Bharathi and Sugandhasree awards

  • CNM Reporter

Indian Society for Spices (ISS) located at ICAR- Indian Institute of Spices Research will give away prestigious Sugandha Bharathi and Sugandhasree awards during SYMSAC X 2021, an International Symposium on Spices and Aromatic Crops.
Dr. P. N. Ravindran, renowned plant breeder, author and writer, best known for his contributions in the field of Spices research, development and documentation has been selected for the Sugandha Bharathi Award.Dr.Raveendran is a former director and Project Coordinator of ICAR- IISR and a distinguished scientist who has authored spices related books for many international publishers.
ISS has been honouring outstanding individuals in the field of spices research and development with SugandhaBharathi Award once in 4 years. The awardees are selected for their lifetime contribution for the development and improvement of spices, aromatic crops and medicinal plants. The award consists of a Gold Medal and a Citation.

Dr.PN Ravindran

T Joseph

ISS has selected T Joseph, a nutmeg farmer from Kottayam for Sugandhasree award recognizing his innovations in spice crops for enhanced income with sustainability. Joseph, a retired employee of FACT has been engaging in intercrop cultivation while focusing on nutmeg. ISS presents this award in every 2 year to promote farmers’ innovations.
ISS will confer the awards on awardees during the four day international symposium at ICAR-IISR planned from February 9 to 12.

Nine life members of the Indian Society for Spices will be conferred Fellowshipat the event taking into account their significant contribution to the cause of spices. The fellows of the year are Dr. R. Suseela Bhai, Dr. N. K.Hegde, Dr. T. Pradeep Kumar,Dr.SuchandDatta, Dr. S. N. Saxena, Dr. Rashid Pervez, Dr. C. N. Biju,Dr.Gargi Deepak Shirke and Dr. Amar Chand Shivran.Other awards including Dr. J.S. Pruthi Award for best research article, Dr. V S Korikanthimath Award for the Best Ph.D. Thesis on Spices, Medicinal and Aromatic Crops and SmtVijaya V Korikanthimath Best M.Sc. Thesis Award on Spices, Medicinal and Aromatic Crops will also be distributed at the event.

More News from City Talk